Learning and Play

Playgroup helps pre-school children to develop and to learn through play, through a wider contact with groups of friends that cannot usually be provided from home. It helps accustom children to being away from their parents, so helping them to face full-time education with more confidence.

Learning and Development:

At Happy Tots, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which was introduced by the Government in 2008. One of the main 4 themes is Learning and Development.
 ‘Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected’ EYFS (2008) and the revised EYFS (2012)

Through your child’s Learning Journey, your key person will make sure, through observations, assessments and planning, together with parent’s information that they provide, play and learning opportunities are planned to cover all six areas.

Please remember that you can come into the setting and view your child’s Learning Journey at any time.

Appointments are available at Parent Evenings held every half-term for you to discuss your child’s development with your child’s key person.

The seven areas of Learning and Development are:

  • Communication and language.
  • Physical Development.
  • Personal, Social, & Emotional.
  • Maths.
  • Understanding the World.
  • Literacy.
  • Expressive Art and Design.